Kaid Ashton: The Street Meets the Artist

Who is Kaid Ashton? I really don’t know. Haven’t heard of him since I “stumbled” into his photo-blog site today. All I know is that He was (and maybe still) in Manila recently. But after digging into his world and some help from Dr. Google, I was left with nothing but a craving for more. He is bringing art to many corners of the world – from flashy streets of New York to hard up slums of Manila. His subjects would range from graffiti to the streets to people and their rich culture. I’m no pro but I find his story quite remarkable. He sure knows how to capture “the essence of the moment.” The world’s yet to discover more of Kaid, but this much I know, he makes art alive wherever he goes. And that, for me, is beyond interesting.

Take a peek at his blogsite here:  http://kaidashton.blogspot.com

~ by zyrusderi on March 29, 2011.

One Response to “Kaid Ashton: The Street Meets the Artist”

  1. I’ve watched his interview in Pinoy Matters a few weeks ago, and this guy is super cool! He made the streets of Manila his canvass, and is doing more! He is coming up with a foundation for the kids of Tondo and Smokey Mountain to teach them art. He narrated that when he visited the Philippines a few years back, he saw the people living in the slums in Makati and vowed to himself that he will go back and do something for them, using art as his means. This guy who is a foreigner in this country searched the streets of Tondo and went to Smokey Mountain to meet the people there and introduce his art. I myself have never been to Smokey Mountain, so you could imagine how awed I was with this guy. He said he will go back to Hong Kong this month to work (since he did not find a job here) to finance his foundation. He said he will put up a website soon to update those who are interested with his art and cause. I am definitely watching out for this guy!

Leave a comment